Has anyone (water companies, the emergency managers, the Governor's office, etc.) tried to discredit you personally in response to your story? - American Civil Liberties Union Review

Has anyone (water companies, the emergency managers, the Governor's office, etc.) tried to discredit you personally in response to your story?

Has anyone (water companies, the emergency managers, the Governor's office, etc.) tried to discredit you personally in response to your story?

Has anyone (water companies, the emergency managers, the Governor's office, etc.) tried to discredit you personally in response to your story? What did they do/say?

Actually, I expected them to do that. But it hasn't happened so far. And, who knows, maybe they can try and discredit me. Although I've heard the governor's spokesman is tellnig some journalists that I'm not a "journalist," in an attempt to take a swipe at my credibility.But they cannot discredit the facts, which are largely built on government documents that the ACLU of Michigan has obtained.

Do You Work At American Civil Liberties Union?

Anonymously rate American Civil Liberties Union as an employer

Other American Civil Liberties Union employee reviews

Zippia Official Logo

4.0

Financial Stability And A Comforting Work EnvironmentMay 2021

4.0

Zippia Official LogoFinancial Stability And A Comforting Work EnvironmentMay 2021

What Do You Like About Working There?

Diversity Show More

What DON'T You Like About Working There?

Chaotic work flow Show More

What Are Your Favorite Benefits/Perks?

Financial Stability and a comforting work environment Show More
Zippia Official Logo
A Link To Opportunities Is AvailableDecember 2017
Zippia Official LogoA Link To Opportunities Is AvailableDecember 2017

How do I get a job as an ACLU lawyer (assume I'm already a licensed practicing attorney)?

We are always looking for talented attorneys dedicated to defending the Constitution. A link to opportunities is available here: https://www.aclu.org/careers/
Zippia Official Logo
Best ThingJanuary 2016
Zippia Official LogoBest ThingJanuary 2016

Do you think more non-profit organizations should have investigative reporters?

No other ACLU branch in the country ha ever done what we've done. One of our hopes, when we began this experiment a little more than two years ago, was that we'd be successful enough that others would want to replicate it. So, we'll see what happens with us n terms o the organization. But last night at the Michigan Press Association awards banquet, a big winner was Bridge Magazine, which is a nonprofit organization. You have national outfits like Pro Publica, which has been blazing this trail for a while. so it is clearly a growing movement. The best thing about us getting an award last night is that it legitimizes the effort.

Great job on bringing this insane situation to light. Have you been threatened or has anyone on a local or state level tried to discredit you, go after you, etc?

No, not really. I've never been worried about that sort of thing. And by now, it is too late, The media hounds -- local, state, national -- have been unleashed in a big way. It is no longer just me and a few others on the trail, which is a great thing.
Zippia Official Logo
What tips do you have for young reporters?January 2016
Zippia Official LogoWhat tips do you have for young reporters?January 2016

Hello Curt! Congrats on your "Journalist of the Year" award! It's well deserved. What tips do you have for young reporters?

I was talking with some journalism students last night. I brought up Joseph Cambell's quote: Follow your bliss and doors will open where you never knew doors existed." My job here at the ACLU of Michigan is proof of that.
Anonymous review of American Civil Liberties Union

Do you work at American Civil Liberties Union? Rate American Civil Liberties Union as an Employer.

How would you rate working at American Civil Liberties Union?

Do you work at American Civil Liberties Union? Anonymously review American Civil Liberties Union as an Employer.

What do you like about working for American Civil Liberties Union?

How would you rate working at American Civil Liberties Union?

Are you working at American Civil Liberties Union? Help us rate American Civil Liberties Union as an employer.