Working as a Utilization Review Nurse

There is more than meets the eye when it comes to being a utilization review nurse. For example, did you know that they make an average of $32.6 an hour? That's $67,811 a year!

Between 2018 and 2028, the career is expected to grow 12% and produce 371,500 job opportunities across the U.S.

What Does a Utilization Review Nurse Do

There are certain skills that many utilization review nurses have in order to accomplish their responsibilities. By taking a look through resumes, we were able to narrow down the most common skills for a person in this position. We discovered that a lot of resumes listed physical stamina, compassion and critical-thinking skills.

When it comes to the most important skills required to be a utilization review nurse, we found that a lot of resumes listed 19.8% of utilization review nurses included utilization review, while 9.8% of resumes included medical records, and 7.9% of resumes included treatment plans. Hard skills like these are helpful to have when it comes to performing essential job responsibilities.

When it comes to searching for a job, many search for a key term or phrase. Instead, it might be more helpful to search by industry, as you might be missing jobs that you never thought about in industries that you didn't even think offered positions related to the utilization review nurse job title. But what industry to start with? Most utilization review nurses actually find jobs in the health care and insurance industries.

How To Become a Utilization Review Nurse

If you're interested in becoming a utilization review nurse, one of the first things to consider is how much education you need. We've determined that 38.8% of utilization review nurses have a bachelor's degree. In terms of higher education levels, we found that 15.5% of utilization review nurses have master's degrees. Even though most utilization review nurses have a college degree, it's possible to become one with only a high school degree or GED.

Choosing the right major is always an important step when researching how to become a utilization review nurse. When we researched the most common majors for a utilization review nurse, we found that they most commonly earn bachelor's degree degrees or associate degree degrees. Other degrees that we often see on utilization review nurse resumes include master's degree degrees or diploma degrees.

You may find that experience in other jobs will help you become a utilization review nurse. In fact, many utilization review nurse jobs require experience in a role such as staff nurse. Meanwhile, many utilization review nurses also have previous career experience in roles such as registered nurse or nurse.

What is the right job for my career path?

Tell us your goals and we'll match you with the right jobs to get there.

Average Salary$67,811
Job Growth Rate12%

Utilization Review Nurse Jobs

Utilization Review Nurse Career Paths

Top Careers Before Utilization Review Nurse
Nurse9.1 %
Show More
Top Careers After Utilization Review Nurse
Nurse9.9 %
Show More

What is the right job for my career path?

Tell us your goals and we'll match you with the rights job to get there.

Average Salary for a Utilization Review Nurse

Utilization Review Nurses in America make an average salary of $67,811 per year or $33 per hour. The top 10 percent makes over $83,000 per year, while the bottom 10 percent under $54,000 per year.
Average Salary
$67,811

Best Paying Cities

City
Average Salary

Recently Added Salaries

Job TitleCompanyCompanyStart DateSalary
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN-Sunday-Thursday
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN-Sunday-Thursday
Southwestern Health Resources CIN
Southwestern Health Resources CIN
07/24/2020
07/24/2020
$70,06107/24/2020
$70,061
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN-Sunday-Thursday
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN-Sunday-Thursday
Texas Health Resources
Texas Health Resources
07/24/2020
07/24/2020
$70,06107/24/2020
$70,061
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN
Texas Health Resources
Texas Health Resources
06/29/2020
06/29/2020
$70,06106/29/2020
$70,061
Physician Peer Review Nurse
Physician Peer Review Nurse
Novant Health
Novant Health
06/28/2020
06/28/2020
$69,60106/28/2020
$69,601
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN
Utilization Manager Reviewer Registered Nurse-Swhr CIN
Southwestern Health Resources CIN
Southwestern Health Resources CIN
06/25/2020
06/25/2020
$70,06106/25/2020
$70,061
See More Recent Salaries

Calculate your salary

Use Zippia's Salary Calculator to see how your pay matches up.

Utilization Review Nurse Demographics

Gender

Female

84.5 %

Male

11.2 %

Unknown

4.2 %
Ethnicity

White

63.5 %

Hispanic or Latino

13.9 %

Black or African American

12.7 %
Show More
Foreign Languages Spoken

Spanish

63.8 %

German

4.3 %

Dakota

4.3 %
Show More

Utilization Review Nurse Education

Schools

Chamberlain College of Nursing

10.5 %

Walden University

10.1 %

Excelsior College

9.7 %

Grand Canyon University

9.7 %
Show More
Majors

Nursing

77.5 %

Health Care Administration

4.5 %

Business

3.6 %

Nursing Science

2.9 %
Show More
Degrees

Bachelors

38.8 %

Associate

27.8 %

Masters

15.5 %

Diploma

8.2 %
Show More

Entry Level Jobs For Becoming A Utilization Review Nurse

Job type you want
Full Time
Part Time
Internship
Temporary

Top Skills For a Utilization Review Nurse

The skills section on your resume can be almost as important as the experience section, so you want it to be an accurate portrayal of what you can do. Luckily, we've found all of the skills you'll need so even if you don't have these skills yet, you know what you need to work on. Out of all the resumes we looked through, 19.8% of utilization review nurses listed utilization review on their resume, but soft skills such as physical stamina and compassion are important as well.

Best States For a Utilization Review Nurse

Some places are better than others when it comes to starting a career as a utilization review nurse. The best states for people in this position are Alaska, Hawaii, California, and Washington. Utilization review nurses make the most in Alaska with an average salary of $120,219. Whereas in Hawaii and California, they would average $115,166 and $99,363, respectively. While utilization review nurses would only make an average of $94,544 in Washington, you would still make more there than in the rest of the country. We determined these as the best states based on job availability and pay. By finding the median salary, cost of living, and using the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Location Quotient, we narrowed down our list of states to these four.

1. Hawaii

Total Utilization Review Nurse Jobs:
299
Highest 10% Earn:
$186,000
Location Quotient:
2.23
Location Quotient is a measure used by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to determine how concentrated a certain industry is in a single state compared to the nation as a whole. You can read more about how BLS calculates location quotients here

2. Alaska

Total Utilization Review Nurse Jobs:
99
Highest 10% Earn:
$166,000
Location Quotient:
1.09
Location Quotient is a measure used by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to determine how concentrated a certain industry is in a single state compared to the nation as a whole. You can read more about how BLS calculates location quotients here

3. Oregon

Total Utilization Review Nurse Jobs:
628
Highest 10% Earn:
$147,000
Location Quotient:
0.98
Location Quotient is a measure used by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to determine how concentrated a certain industry is in a single state compared to the nation as a whole. You can read more about how BLS calculates location quotients here
View Full List

Utilization Review Nurse Resumes

Designing and figuring out what to include on your resume can be tough, not to mention time-consuming. That's why we put together a guide that is designed to help you craft the perfect resume for becoming a utilization review nurse. If you're needing extra inspiration, take a look through our selection of templates that are specific to your job.

At Zippia, we went through countless utilization review nurse resumes and compiled some information about how best to optimize them. Here are some suggestions based on what we found, divided by the individual sections of the resume itself.

Learn How To Write a Utilization Review Nurse Resume

At Zippia, we went through countless utilization review nurse resumes and compiled some information about how best to optimize them. Here are some suggestions based on what we found, divided by the individual sections of the resume itself.

View Detailed Information

How Do Utilization Review Nurse Rate Their Jobs?

Working as a Utilization Review Nurse? Share your experience anonymously.
Rate
Do you work as a Utilization Review Nurse?
Rate how you like work as Utilization Review Nurse. It's anonymous and will only take a minute.
Rate

Top Utilization Review Nurse Employers

1. Aetna
4.8
Avg. Salary: 
$65,716
Utilization Review Nurses Hired: 
88+
2. UnitedHealth Group
3.9
Avg. Salary: 
$63,446
Utilization Review Nurses Hired: 
72+
3. Anthem
4.7
Avg. Salary: 
$57,459
Utilization Review Nurses Hired: 
58+
4. Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas
4.9
Avg. Salary: 
$51,540
Utilization Review Nurses Hired: 
43+
5. Humana
4.7
Avg. Salary: 
$58,905
Utilization Review Nurses Hired: 
40+
6. KEPRO
4.0
Avg. Salary: 
$59,156
Utilization Review Nurses Hired: 
34+

Utilization Review Nurse Videos

Recently Added Utilization Review Nurse Jobs

Updated October 2, 2020